Members of Altrusa are dedicated to developing and applying our leadership abilities within the club and in our communities. The club has achieved Altrusa International's Distinguished Club status in 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2010-11, 2011-12 and 2012-13.

Scholarships Awarded:
We also recognize leadership through scholarships since 1991. Currently our club awards scholarships each year to 3 Local High School Students, 1 Non-Traditional Student, and 1 University of Kansas Student who plans to Study Abroad.

Scholarship Recipients for 2013-14:

Anna Meissbach-Lawrence High School

Brianna Collicott-Free State High School

Elizabeth Verhaeghe-Baldwin High School

Daina Bitters--Kansas State University

Julie McClenahan--University of Kansas

Distinguished Altrusan (Formerly Altrusan of the Year):

Our Distinguished Altrusan award recognizes one of our own members who has exemplified Altrusa ideals in an outstanding way during the previous year. This award recognizes the member of our club who has extended herself above and beyond expectations to serve our club and our community.

Patie Fielding received the Distinguished Altrusan award in 2014. Although Patie lives in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, she has been a member of our Altrusa Club since 1972. During that time, she has held many positions, culminating with serving as Club President. She went on to be the only member of our club to be dedicated enough to serve the number of years that it takes to serve as District Governor. Patie doesn't let living in South Carolina stop her from being an active part of our club. For a few years, Patie purchased supplies and made lovely jewelry that our club sold at various venues with the proceeds coming back to support our club's projects. This year, for our District Conference, Patie spent many hours creating orange scarves for the Lawrence Altrusans who attended, so that they could wear them on the 25th of the month, a day set aside to bring our focus on the plight of abused women around the world.

Each year the recipient's name is engraved on a traveling plaque in an addition to a certificate the honoree may keep permanently. Members who received this award are shown below:

  • 2004 – Betty Parks
  • 2005 – Sally Brandt
  • 2006 – Ami Daley
  • 2007 – Kassie Edwards
  • 2008 – Julie Tollefson & Trina Vincent Horsey
  • 2009 – Mary Chappell
  • 2010 – Debbie Schmidt
  • 2011 – Lori Michel
  • 2012 – Sidney Roedel
  • 2013-- Elois Allan
  • 2014-- Patie Fielding


Patie Fielding- 2014 Distinguished Altrusan
Altrusans attend a Leadership Seminar.
Donate Now
Your help makes a real difference
Get Involved
Improves lives in your community
Altrusa In Action
Affecting communities like yours
Copyright (c) 2017 Altrusa International, Inc. All rights reserved.
One North LaSalle St., Suite 1955, Chicago, IL 60602 • 1-312-427-4410 • altrusa@altrusa.org